1. Health

Updated Articles and Resources

By Nicholette Zeliadt

Updated Articles and Resources
  • Sunscreen Myths Created: Friday, September 19, 2008 Updated: Wednesday, July 09, 2014
    Sunscreen is an easy way to reduce your risk of developing skin cancer. This article corrects the many myths that exist about the use and effectiveness of sunscreen." itempf expr="$zTP='t3'" --> it...
  • Skin Cancer Pictures, Part III: Melanoma Created: Tuesday, September 09, 2008 Updated: Tuesday, July 01, 2014
    Melanoma symptom images. Skin Cancer.
  • Moles Versus Melanoma Skin Cancer: Learn to Tell the Difference with Pictures Created: Wednesday, March 18, 2009 Updated: Friday, June 27, 2014
    This collection of photographs will help you tell the difference between normal moles (nevi, nevus) and melanoma skin cancer.
  • Margin Created: Wednesday, January 28, 2009 Updated: Friday, June 27, 2014
    What is a margin? Skin Cancer.
  • Metastatic Melanoma Treatment Options Created: Wednesday, December 24, 2008 Updated: Friday, June 20, 2014
    Learn more about common metastatic melanoma treatment options for patients with stage III or IV disease." itemprop="description"> Sunday, May 31, 2009 Updated: Thursday, June 19, 2014
    Quick tips for treating red, itchy, peeling sunburned skin.
  • Making Sense of CT, MRI and PET Scans for Melanoma Skin Cancer Created: Wednesday, October 22, 2008 Updated: Thursday, June 19, 2014
    An introduction to CT, MRI and PET scans for patients newly diagnosed with melanoma." itemprop="description"> Wednesday, October 22, 2008 Updated: Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    Melanoma risk factors, either alone or in combination, can make you more likely to develop the skin cancer. Know your risks, and how you may prevent it." itemprop="descript't3'" --> itemprop="descr...
  • Self-Check Skin Exams: How to Spot Signs of Skin Cancer Created: Tuesday, August 05, 2008 Updated: Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    Answers to five commonly asked questions about performing a self-check skin exam to detect skin cancer in its early, treatable stages." itemprop="description"="description" Wednesday, January 28, 2009 Updated: Tuesday, June 17, 2014
    What is a dermatologist? Skin Cancer.
  • Skin Cancer Treatment Created: Monday, August 04, 2008 Updated: Sunday, June 15, 2014
    An overview of the available types of skin cancer treatment, including treatments for basal cell carcinoma, squamous cell carcinoma, and melanoma." itemprop="description" itemprop="description...
  • Early-Stage Melanoma Treatment Options Created: Monday, September 22, 2008 Updated: Friday, June 13, 2014
    Learn more about common treatment options for early stage melanoma, including stages 0, I and II, that are localized to the skin or local lymph nodes." itemprop="descriptio3'" --> itemprop="descrip...
  • What is Skin Cancer? Created: Friday, August 01, 2008 Updated: Friday, June 13, 2014
    What is skin cancer? This introductory article provides an easy-to-follow answer for patients, including the different types of skin cancer and their causes, symptoms and treatments."
  • Pros and Cons of Lymph Node Dissection for Treating Melanoma Created: Wednesday, July 08, 2009 Updated: Friday, June 13, 2014
    If a sentinel node biopsy shows that your melanoma has spread, should you remove the remaining lymph nodes? It's not an easy decision, and these pros and cons may help." it-#if expr="$zTP='t3'" -->...
  • Spitz Nevus Created: Friday, May 01, 2009 Updated: Friday, June 13, 2014
    What is a spitz nevus?. Skin Cancer.
  • Lymph Node Created: Tuesday, September 16, 2008 Updated: Friday, June 13, 2014
    What is a lymph node? Skin Cancer.
  • Melanoma Skin Cancer and the Young Created: Thursday, April 30, 2009 Updated: Wednesday, June 11, 2014
    Contrary to popular belief, melanoma skin cancer afflicts people of all ages. We turned to an expert, Robert A. Weiss, MD, to provide some perspective on the impact of melanoma on young people -- a...
  • An Introduction to Cancer Genetics and Melanoma Created: Monday, December 15, 2008 Updated: Wednesday, June 11, 2014
    A number of genetic factors are being investigated for their role in melanoma skin cancer, including inherited genes as well genetic defects that are acquired from excessive sun exposure."
  • Skin Cancer Pictures, Part II: Squamous Cell Carcinoma Created: Monday, September 08, 2008 Updated: Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    A collection of photographs (images, pictures, JPG) of squamous cell carcinoma, a common form of skin cancer.
  • Chemotherapy Created: Tuesday, December 16, 2008 Updated: Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    What is chemotherapy? Skin Cancer.
  • Macule Created: Thursday, March 19, 2009 Updated: Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    What is a macule? Skin Cancer.
  • The Skin Cancer Biopsy: What You Need to Know Created: Friday, September 12, 2008 Updated: Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    If the lesion on your skin appears potentially cancerous, your doctor will take a sample from the suspicious area for examination under a microscope. This is called a biopsy. Learn more about the v...
  • What Causes Squamous Cell Skin Cancer? Created: Tuesday, March 31, 2009 Updated: Monday, June 09, 2014
    What causes squamous cell skin cancer? Part of a series of answers to frequently asked questions about one of the most common types of skin cancer, squamous cell carcinoma.
  • Understanding Your Melanoma Pathology Report, Part I: Mitotic Rate Created: Friday, November 28, 2008 Updated: Monday, June 09, 2014
    An important part of your melanoma pathology report, the mitotic rate is a measurement of how fast tumor cells are dividing in patients with melanoma." itemprop="descriptio3'" --> itemprop="descrip...
  • Introduction to Squamous Cell Carcinoma Created: Friday, September 05, 2008 Updated: Wednesday, June 04, 2014
    Squamous cell carcinoma (SCC) is the second most common type of skin cancer. Learn about the symptoms, your risk, and how to prevent and treat this cancer." itemprop="descrTP='t3'" --> itemprop="de...
  • Melanoma Staging: What it Means and Reveals Created: Friday, September 12, 2008 Updated: Tuesday, June 03, 2014
    Melanoma staging is the process used to determine the size of a melanoma tumor and where and how far it has spread." itemprop="description">> Tuesday, November 18, 2008 Updated: Tuesday, June 03, 2014
    Clark Level and Breslow Thickness are two measures used to determine the stage and prognosis of a melanoma. Learn what these numbers can mean for you." itemprop="descriptio3'" --> itemprop="descrip...
  • Introduction to Melanoma Skin Cancer Created: Friday, September 05, 2008 Updated: Tuesday, June 03, 2014
    Melanoma is the most aggressive type of skin cancer. Learn more about melanoma in this overview, including types, growth pattern, diagnosis, and treatments." itemprop="desczTP='t3'" --> itemprop="d...
  • Where and Why Can Melanoma Spread? Created: Tuesday, November 18, 2008 Updated: Monday, June 02, 2014
    Melanoma metastasis occurs when a melanoma lesion recurs (returns), gets thicker or spreads from the skin to the lymph nodes or distant organs." itemprop="description" Tuesday, February 24, 2009 Updated: Wednesday, May 28, 2014
    An overview of the LDH test for melanoma skin cancer, including what the test measures, what results mean, and its effectiveness in detecting metastasis." itemprop="descrip='t3'" --> itemprop="desc...
  • Skin Cancer Pictures, Part IV: Non-Cancerous and Pre-Cancerous Skin Lesions Created: Tuesday, September 09, 2008 Updated: Tuesday, May 27, 2014
    A collection of pictures of actual non-cancerous and pre-cancerous skin lesions, including actinic keratosis, dysplastic nevi, and more.
  • Rare Skin Cancers Created: Thursday, October 16, 2008 Updated: Friday, May 23, 2014
    Rare skin cancers include cutaneous T-cell lymphoma, Merkel cell carcinoma, Kaposi’s sarcoma, sebaceous gland carcinoma, and dermatofibrosarcoma protuberans." itemproexpr="$zTP='t3'" --> item...

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.